Smith Jerrod

It’s that episode from Sex And The City when Samantha waits it out for Smith Jerrod at his restaurant, eyeing her opponent as her opponent eyed Smith Jerrod.

When I got to Café Revolucion she was sitting at my seat. I felt I had interrupted something, it wasn’t a pleasant feeling. Maybe she was filler, it was me he’d planned to meet. The back of her head fell with long blond waves, I knew she was surfer girl, I also knew from the back of her head that on the front of her face, her eyes were gazing intently at el surfista I had hoped would be gazing intently at me.  Still, I knew what I wanted and I wasn’t going anywhere until he for which I had come was rightfully with me.

I looked muy bonita. Red skirt, short and tight, blue top, soft fabric said please touch me, black combat boots said don’t fuck with me; I am tough enough for your jungle life. My hair was perfection! The walk down the hill had it wind-tossed just enough to give the appearance I hadn’t just spent 20 minutes in the mirror.

The complexity I saw easily when he looked at me made him far from simple, but both his lack of power, nor a roof above his bed meant he would not get on with a girl with a pension for a blown dry.

So I waited it out. No, he didn’t offer up his chair, nor did he revert his attention to me, exclusively. I played it cool. But if his body language wasn’t going to tell the girl with the annoyingly alluring Aussie accent to bounce, my body language would, with a smile on my face. I’m nice, I’ll be your friend; I’m a bitch, I will cut you.

He talked a big game the other day, wanting me to stay, so I couldn’t understand why now he’d pull away; not when we possibly have only today. I had hoped, after all, he’d be a reason to stay. Not that the magnificence of this jungle beach would ever drive me away. I am here.

Well, she left. Then we left. Together.

image

xo,
Jane

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment